WhatsApp Image 2019-01-16 at 10.34.40

The premier rugby tournament in the country, the Singer Schools Rugby League 2019 will be having an early start this year with the games set to start in the final week of February and expected to continue for five weeks straight.

A total of 12 teams will feature in the top division divided in the 2 groups for the first round. In the 1st round, each of them will play each other in the group and the top 4 finishers will make it to the cup championship. The bottom of each group will make it the Plate championship.

New entrants to the ‘A’ Division, Maliyadeva College will be in Group IA while Science College who get their promotion ticket after a year in the ‘B’ Division will be in Group IIA.

The groups for 2019 is as follows:

PositionGroup IAGroup IIA
1Royal CollegeSt. Joseph’s College
2St. Peter’s CollegeIsipathana College
3Kingswood CollegeTrinity College
4Wesley CollegeZahira College
5S. Thomas’ CollegeSt. Anthony’s College
6Maliyadeva CollegeScience College

The groupings are based on last year’s positions in the Singer Schools Rugby League. Check the Points Table from 2018 on ThePapare Stats Centre

Last year’s Schools Rugby League winners Royal College will lead the seeding in the Group IA while St. Joseph’s College who were league runners-up will sit on top of the Group IIA.

The fixtures for the Schools Rugby League 2019

WeekHome TeamVisiting TeamVenueTime
Week – 1 Feb 25 – Mar 3Royal CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeRoyal Complex4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeScience CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeIsipathana CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeWesley CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
Zahira CollegeTrinity CollegeZahira Grounds4.00 p.m.
Week – 2 Mar 4 – 10S. Thomas’ CollegeRoyal CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeSt.. Joseph’s CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Maliyadeva CollegeWesley CollegeMaliyadeva Grounds4.00 p.m.
Science CollegeZahira CollegeScience Grounds4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m..
Trinity CollegeIsipathana CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
Week-3 Mar 11 – 17Royal CollegeWesley CollegeRoyal Complex4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeZahira CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeKingswood CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Trinity CollegeSt. Anthony’s CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
Maliyadeva CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeMaliyadeva Grounds4.00 p.m.
Science CollegeIsipathana CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Week-4 Mar 18 – 24Kingswood CollegeRoyal CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeTrinity CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Wesley CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeLongdon Place4.00 p.m.
Isipathana CollegeZahira CollegeHavelock Park4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeSTC Grounds4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeScience CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Week-5 Mar 25 – 31St. Peter’s CollegeRoyal CollegeSPC Grounds4.00 p.m.
Isipathana CollegeSt. Joseph’s CollegeHavelock Park4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m..
Trinity CollegeScience CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeWesley CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Zahira CollegeScience CollegeZahira Grounds4.00 p.m.